Philippine Standard Time:

Punong Barangay: Crispin G. Mariano, Jr.

Barangay Council:

  1. Johnny C. Cutay
  2. Bernanbe O. Tipayno
  3. Teodoro G. Abuan, Jr.
  4. Eduardo C. Bandao
  5. Franklin M. Cayadi
  6. Elfred O. Polon
  7. Arthur F. de Leon

SK Chairman: Jean Errol C. Garoy

Barangay Treasurer: Genevieve B. Dagol

Barangay Secretary: Leny Grace C. Garoy

Origin and Early Beginnings. This barangay is called Poblacion being the center of government and the center of commerce and trade.

Legal Creation. Barangay Poblacion, with the other five Barangays of Sablan, was created under the Philippine Commission Act 4203, Section 7 on May 17, 1927.

There are no original settlers in Poblacion but a conglomeration of immigrants from other places. The known settlers who were considered as the above average earners were: Sito Family, Romero Family, Ticol Family, Goana Family, Camacho Family, Cando Family, Angel Family, Busoy Family and unnamed families.

The name Poblacion was derived from the word “Ap-aponan”, a center of commerce. In the early days, people coming from other municipalities that goes down to La Union to barter their products had stop over spend the night then the following day, they proceed to their destination. As years goes by, “Ap-aponan” was changed to Poblacion.

Poblacion is located on the western portion of the Municipality along the Quirino National Highway. Following said road, this barangay is 20 kilometers away from Baguio City and 26 kilometers away from Provincial Capitol of Benguet. It is bounded on the north by Barangay Pappa and Burgos, La Union, south by Barangay Bayabas, east by Barangay Kamog and west by Burgos, La Union.


The barangay has an estimated land area of 786 hectares or 8.57% of the total land area of the municipality. It is comprised of  Nine (9) sitios namely: Salat, Poblacion, Sabdang, Palali, Coral, Sawili, Alimang, Matal-og and Sabangan