Philippine Standard Time:


Punong Barangay: Teofilo M. Anacioco

Barangay Council:

  1. Eugenio S. Cales
  2. Ricardo S. Ciano
  3. Cristino M. Bartolome
  4. Marlon T. Mariano
  5. Adriane G. Bahol
  6. Benjamin M. Lorena
  7. Mateo T. Langbis

SK Chairman: Justin S. Quinoan

Barangay Treasurer: Fredelyn B. Namuro

Barangay Secretary: Alexious M. Bartolome

Barangay Bayabas is bounded on the NORTH by Barangay Poblacion Sablan, Benguet; NORTHEAST by Barangay Kamog, Sablan, Benguet; SOUTH by Barangay Nangalisan, Tuba, Benguet; EAST by Barangay Banangan, Sablan, Benguet, and SOUTHWEST by Barangay Basca, Aringay, La Union; WEST by Al-alinao Sur, Naguilian, La Union, and NORTHWEST by Barangay Bilis, Burgos, La Union.

Sometime in 1898, five families saw the potential of the place as a settlement area. These would include the following families who became the first settlers in the area: Lorena, Akia, Nab-os, Garoy and Paran. These families trace their origin from Tuba, Loakan, and Atok. Their ethno linguistic origin is Ibaloi. Other families include Saturnino, Inso, Calado, and others. The settlement grew when other migrants in search for economic opportunity came to join the early settlers. Individuals from nearby communities as well came to permanently reside within the community and intermarried with the offspring of the first settlers.

The barangay was created under Philippine Commission Act No. 4203, Section 78, on May 17, 1927. The name of the barangay was derived from the vernacular term bayabas, which means guava.  In the 1890’s, guava trees used to thrive in abundance in today’s Bayabas Proper. Stories relate that caravans passing through the community gave the name Bayabas to the place.

At present, Bayabas is the largest of the eight (8) barangays of the Municipality of Sablan, covering a total land area of two thousand two hundred fifty nine point eighty five (2,259.85) hectares  or 26.67% of the municipality’s nine thousand one hundred sixty-eight (9,168) hectares. The barangay is bounded by barangay Banangan on the East, Poblacion on the North, North East by Kamog, on the West by Libtong (of Burgos, La Union), on the South by barangay Nangalisan (of Tuba), and on the Southwest by Basca (of Aringay, La Union).

Barangay Bayabas and the other five barangays of Sablan were created under Philippines Commission Act 4203, section 7 on May 17, 1927.

There are twenty-seven (27) sitios comprising the barangay. These are: Amocao, Abuloy, Batawil, Balococ, Beckes, Bulala, Calamay, Colat, Central Bayabas, Coplo, Jangjang, Kabaong, Kifa, Kinakawan, Mangi, Monglo Lower Monglo, Pangalasay, Payda, Pagalan, Pidawan, Pikaw, Sacnid, Sedong, Talakap, Teytey, and Talete with a total population of Two Thousand Five Hundred Ninety Four (2,594).

The ethno linguistic groups in the community are Ibaloi, Ilocano, Kankanaey, Kalanguya, Ifugao, Kalinga, Pangasinan, and Tagalog. The dominant group is Ibaloi.

The barangay is traversed by the Naguilian Road which provides road accessibility to the barangay. It is accessible to all types of vehicles except boat and for far flung sitios that don’t have access roads only foot trails.

Bayabas is 27 kilometers from the Provincial Capitol (La Trinidad), 8.20 kilometers from the Municipal Building location in Poblacion, 3.20 kilometers from the National highway, and 20 kilometers from Baguio City.